Book, Fantasy, Kindle Unlimited, Romance

Courageous Heroine Fairy Tales by Lisa Shea

Karen’s Magic Review

I thoroughly enjoyed this retelling of favourite fairy tales. I found the idea conjured up by the author clever, and entertaining.

In my #Pictures Telling Story feature. I like to choose images that I feel fits the story I’ve read.

Each picture is easily identifiable, Cinderella, known as Ella, Snow White, and Beauty, whose name is Katherine. Each of them have their own adventure and, as their story ends, they meet each other. It blended together nicely. I particularly liked Snow White, and in this retelling she is looked after by seven knights.

Their adventure came together with a tense battle and of course, a happy-ever-after.

What I particularly liked was that each of the protagonists were strong-willed women, without being dependant on anyone else. Not only that, but the ending was special. I’m not going to give anything away, but the “baddies’ in this were not the normal people you would expect.

Another bonus to this story is the author’s explanation of the fairy tale’s origins. It was just as interesting as the stories themselves.

Another highly recommended book!


Cinderella made a vow to her mother, before her mother tragically passed away on midwinter’s day. Ella swore to watch over her father and care for him. But then her father married anew. Her stepmother and two stepsisters took sharp delight in causing Ella grief from morn to eve. They bullied her, called her Cinderella, and treated her as little more than a slave in her own home. It took all of Ella’s courage to swallow the insults and to honor her word.

Now the crown prince has returned home from the battlefront; a ball is announced to celebrate his arrival. All eligible young women from the entire kingdom are invited to attend.

Ella has but one desire left. She wishes to see the king’s gardens one last time before she leaves home. It will be a final way to commemorate her beloved mother before counting her vow’s terms as complete.

She has no idea what awaits her on that arched stone bridge …

* * *

This book contains all five tales in the Courageous Heroine Fairy Tales: Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty, Sleeping Beauty, and The Golden Key. The tales honor the original intention of the Grimm Fairy Tales – to present women of strength and courage tackling challenges which seemed insurmountable. With each new tale a new heroine is interwoven into the story. The series sequence leads up to a happily ever after ending. The series is clean romance and is suitable for teens and up. 

I support battered women’s shelters.

As fairy tales are so integral to so many young lives, it was critical for me to do my very best to present each heroine in a way which honored her strength and showcased her ability to stand on her own. It took me over five years to craft this series. I feel strongly that no woman should ever sit around waiting for a man to “rescue” them. Women should not endure abusive behavior in the hopes that a man will change or magically become a prince.

Be the change you wish to see in the world.

I have a library of over 450 books running the gamut from medieval romance to cozy mystery, from mythology to fairy tale to Biblical retellings. I support battered women’s shelters. Feel free to contact me with any questions!

2 thoughts on “Courageous Heroine Fairy Tales by Lisa Shea”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.